Second CDT Symposium Schedule

Saturday April 25, 2015

Student Center Auditorium, GSU


Saturday April 25, 2015  
7:45 am Registration and breakfast  
8:40 am James A. Weyhenmeyer Opening
8:45 am Jenny Yang CDT overview
Session I: New Diagnostics. Chair: Martin D’Souza
9:00am Suri Iyer


Electrochemical Assay to Detect Influenza Viruses and Determine Drug Susceptibility
9:30am Jyothi Rengarajan


Host Biomarkers for Improving Tuberculosis Diagnosis and Monitoring Treatment
10:00 am Bradley D. Smith

Notre Dame

Optical Imaging and Photothermal Therapy Using Organic Dyes
10:30 am Coffee break  
Session II: Anticancer Therapies. Chair: Shafik Khan
10:50 am Claudia Palena


Development of Immunotherapeutic Interventions aimed at Countering Tumor Progression
11:20 am Kebin Liu

Georgia Regents University

H3K9 Methylation and Colorectal Cancer Immune Evasion and Chemoresistance
11:50 am Yuan Liu


Eradicate cancer by SIRPalpha-deficient macrophages
Lunch & poster session. Veterans Memorial Hall Chair: Hamed Laroui; Co-chair: Jun Yin.
12:20 pm Boxed Lunches  
12:30 pm   Odd Number Presentations
1:10 pm   Even Number Presentations
Session III: Liver Disease. Chair: Qun Zhao
2:00 pm Boris Hinz

University of Toronto

The myofibroblast at the center of disease diagnosis and therapeutics
2:30 pm Haitao Guo


HBV cccDNA Formation and Pharmacological Intervention
3:00 pm Coffee break.  
Session IV: Keynote speeches. Introductions by Ming Luo for Dennis Liotta & Greg Poon for Jeffery Conn
3:20 pm Dennis Liotta


Nucleoside therapeutics: past successes and future challenges
4:05 pm Jeffery Conn

Vanderbilt University

Allosteric modulators of acetylcholine receptors for the treatment of CNS disorders
4:50 pm Poster awards and short presentations on the posters. Chairs: Hamed Laroui, Jun Yin & Greg Poon
5:30 pm Closing remarks Jenny Yang